InTech

JAN-FEB 2019

Issue link: http://intechdigitalxp.isa.org/i/1079769

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 34 of 55

INTECH JANUARY/FEBRUARY 2019 35 AUTOMATION IT discrete manufacturing, or packaged equipment, the ISA-18.2 technical reports provide helpful guidance on how to best implement and maintain effective alarms. Further reading The ISA-18.2 alarm management stan - dard and supporting technical reports are available at www.isa.org/standards. ISA members may view the standard and TRs online at no cost as part of their ISA membership benefits. n ABOUT THE AUTHORS All four authors served as cochairs of ISA- 18.2 technical report working groups for TR4, TR6, and TR7, and are voting mem- bers of the ISA18 alarm management committee. Joseph Alford (jmalford5@earthlink.net) is an independent automation consultant. He previously spent 35 years with Eli Lilly in automating their life science processes. He is a Fellow of both ISA and AIChE and a member of the Process Automation Hall of Fame. Bridget Fitzpatrick (bridget.fitzpatrick@ woodgroup.com) is the managing director of the ISA18 committee. She is the process automation authority for Wood in Hous- ton, Texas. Fitzpatrick is also an ISA Fellow. Doug Metzger (doug.metzger@cox.net) is principal consultant with DPM Consult- ing. He previously held the role of Engi- neering Fellow at Honeywell Process Solu- tions, where he worked for 35 years. Graham Nasby (graham.nasby@guelph. ca) is the water SCADA & security special- ist with City of Guelph Water Services. He is also the cochair of the ISA112 SCADA Systems standards committee. View the online version at www.isa.org/intech/20190205. RESOURCES ISA-18.2 Alarm Management standard www.isa.org/isa18-2-alarm-management ISA-TR18.2.4-2012, Enhanced and Advanced Alarm Methods www.isa.org/isa-tr1824-2012-enhanced- and-advanced-alarm-methods ISA-TR18.2.6-2012, Alarm Systems for Batch and Discrete Processes www.isa.org/isa-tr1826-2012-alarm- systems-for-batch-and-discrete-processes ISA-TR18.2.7-2017, Alarm Management when Utilizing Packaged Systems www.isa.org/isa-tr1827-2017-alarm- management-when-utilizing-packaged- systems ISA Alarm Management standards committee www.isa.org/isa18 Build it, See it, Price it, Order it. Point and click or tap to specify valve type, end connections, actuator, and accessories. Model number, price, description, and photo all update instantly! Try one today at: We Make Valve Automation Easy! Online Valve Configurators Quickly & Easily Specify a Complete Automated Valve Assembly on Your PC, Tablet, or Phone Wherever you see this image NEW! From ISA Publishing Order your copy today at www.isa.org/analyzersystems Minimize or eliminate obstacles on process analyzer system projects—large and small, capital or maintenance Learn how to recognize risks and avoid them when possible, address risks quickly and cost effectively, smoothly execute analyzer systems projects, define hardware and docu- mentation deliverables, and communicate among teams and in the supply chain.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of InTech - JAN-FEB 2019