InTech

JUL-AUG 2019

Issue link: http://intechdigitalxp.isa.org/i/1151003

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 6 of 53

Perspectives from the Editor | talk to me INTECH JULY/AUGUST 2019 7 Professional preparation for technology-driven shifts By Renee Bassett, InTech Chief Editor community with ways to identify, evalu- ate, and apply important new technology. An important new way ISA is doing that has just been announced: The ISA Global Cybersecurity Alliance brings together end- user companies, control system vendors, IT and OT infrastructure providers, system integrators, and others to partici pate in an open, collaborative forum de signed to advance industrial control system (ICS) cybersecurity awareness, readiness, and knowledge sharing. Industrial sectors covered by the alliance include manufacturing, commercial build- ings, and critical infrastructure facilities. In this issue of InTech magazine, you can learn more about other industrial automation technology. The cover story describes how artificial intelligence appli - cations are using the data being gathered by IIoT devices to enable better decision making. Elsewhere, learn about how acoustic monitoring systems enable pre - dictive maintenance improvements, or how chemical plants go beyond spread - sheets to analyze data in new ways. As contributing editor Bill Lydon says, "There have been times in history when there were radical changes in technolo - gies and methods that transformed in - dustries, creating winners and losers. At each stage, those that adopted appro - priate new technologies and methods became winners, and the others were losers. In this environment of change, au tomation professionals who can sort out fact from fiction and hype from real- ity are important." Finding the right tools and resources to help with that sort is important too. I'm glad you found us. n N o matter your industry, your age, or the particular type of industri - al automation you immerse your- self in day-to-day, I have an important question to ask: How are you preparing your professional self for the technology- driven shifts happening all around you? The need for lifelong learning is real, and "the pace of change is accelerating at the exact same time that people's work lives are elongating," says author, speaker, and work strategist Heather McGowan. Through her think tank called Work to Learn, McGowan talks about how, in the third industrial revolution, "we learned (once) in order to work, but now in the fourth industrial revolution, we will work in order to learn (continuously)." Now, "work tasks as we knew them in the past have become atomized , bro - ken into job fragments that can be done anywhere around the world; automated, achievable or solvable by computerized technologies; and augmented [with] tech - nologies that extend the human physi- cally or cognitively," McGowan says. So, I ask you: How are you staying on top of technology-driven shifts and helping your professional self absorb the changes? One way, of course, is with this maga- zine, the official publication of the Interna- tional Society of Automation. I am happy to be the new chief editor of this almost- 70-year-old publication, as well as a new collaborator in the development of other professional tools that ISA provides. (For - mer chief editor Bill Lydon remains; his col- umn is now The Final Say.) From leadership training courses to technical certifications to automation standards and best prac - tices, ISA provides the greater automation ISA INTECH STAFF CHIEF EDITOR Renee Bassett rbassett@isa.org CONTRIBUTING EDITOR Bill Lydon blydon@isa.org CONTRIBUTING EDITOR Charley Robinson crobinson@isa.org PUBLISHER Rick Zabel rzabel@isa.org PRODUCTION EDITOR Lynne Franke lfranke@isa.org ART DIRECTOR Colleen Casper ccasper@isa.org SENIOR GRAPHIC DESIGNER Pam King pking@isa.org GRAPHIC DESIGNER Lisa Starck lstarck@isa.org ISA PRESIDENT Paul Gruhn, PE, CFSE PUBLICATIONS VICE PRESIDENT Victor S. Finkel, CAP EDITORIAL ADVISORY BOARD CHAIRMAN Steve Valdez GE Sensing Joseph S. Alford PhD, PE, CAP Eli Lilly (retired) Joao Miguel Bassa Independent Consultant Eoin Ó Riain Read-out, Ireland Guilherme Rocha Lovisi Bayer Technology Services David W. Spitzer, PE Spitzer and Boyes, LLC Dean Ford, CAP Westin Engineering David Hobart Hobart Automation Engineering Smitha Gogineni Midstream & Terminal Services James F. Tatera Tatera & Associates How are you staying on top of technology-driven shifts and helping your professional self absorb the changes?

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of InTech - JUL-AUG 2019